Not in the House, please!

The weather is changing. Fall is upon us, and the creatures of the outdoors are looking for a warm place to spend the winter. This is the fifth one of these monsters we have found in the house. The largest spider we’ve dispatched this season was over three times the size of this wolf spider. I guess if you want to live on the edge of civilization, you must accept that sometimes the wild creeps indoors. Usually these spiders travel with a mate, and the females are far larger than the males. If this guy’s girlfriend is in the house, I had better load the shotgun!large wolf spiderlarge wolf spider posing for photo

Note: This wolf spider looks as though he is free, but he’s actually in a pickle jar. I wouldn’t suggest handling this breed of wolf. This specimen was extremely aggressive and would come after my fingers when I touched the glass!

Sue

4 Comments

Filed under Sue's Corner, Wildlife

4 responses to “Not in the House, please!

  1. You don’t have to worry about me. There is no way I’d go near that thing. Loaded gun may be needed. We have dainty delicate Daddy Long Leg spiders here.

    • I don’t really mind spiders in the garden. In fact, I encourage them, but once they creep into my house, their lives are in danger. At the moment, I am sitting on my front porch waiting for my house to air out. We fumigated. No more spiders… for a little while anyway.

  2. Looks like you’re getting ready for Halloween!

Leave a Reply

