The Cat is Clean, Now Could Someone Call the Paramedics?

I suppose I should have taken note of Pudge’s demeanor before I decided to place my life in his paws.

A wise dog once said that the safest way to give a cat a bath begins with thoroughly cleaning the toilet… 

I was in a panic. Pudge had fleas. I know, all cats get fleas, but before you begin to chuckle about my paranoia, I must tell you that Pudge is allergic to flea collars, flea powder, flea spray, and all of the one spot flea treatments. Use any of these treatments, and within days, Pudge’s hair will fall out, and he will be covered by a rash consisting of tiny, itchy lumps and large oozing sores. Unfortunately, Pudge is also allergic to fleas. 

In our old house in town, we never had much of a problem with fleas, but here on the edge of the forest, with a three-legged opossum living somewhere in our dungeon of a basement, and mice attempting to convert the attic into a country club, things are quite different. We kill the fleas. They come back. We kill them again. They come back, and Pudge is always the one to suffer. In spite of daily flea combings, he was beginning to rash up and his beautiful black coat was starting to thin. Pudge needed a flea bath. 

I was not new to the idea of bathing cats. Years ago, I had a Persian mix that was a notorious bed wetter. (The cat would actually wet him self while napping.) We made him sleep on a plastic mat that saved our furniture, but often I had to place the sopping wet cat into the sink where he would sit patiently as I gave him a good scrubbing. Later I had a huge, old Tabby that refused to wash himself. I would gently lower him into a tub of warm water, and he would purr as I washed him clean. Even Pudge’s sister seems to enjoy an occasional bath. 

So innocently assuming all was well, I took Pudge into the bathroom, ran about eight inches of warm water into the tub, and lowered him in. 

It took me less than two seconds to realize that a lean, muscular, seventeen-pound cat can triple in size, strength, and agility when dropped into a tub of warm water. As I struggled to keep him in the tub with one hand, and use a cup to get him wet with the other, I felt blessed by the fact that he had bad teeth. Unfortunately, he felt blessed by the fact that he had very healthy claws. Less than fifteen seconds after being lowered into the tub, he managed to fight his way free and went up over the side of the tub, over the toilet and into the corner. From there he gave me his black panther, “Touch me and you die!” scowl. Planning my moves cautiously to prevent loss of my fingers or eyes, I lunged forward, clamped my hands firmly behind his front legs, and rushed him back to the tub. Working at breakneck speed, I soaked him thoroughly, then grabbed the flea shampoo, and lathered him up. It was then that I learned my second important lesson. A seventeen-pound cat with a bad attitude becomes very slippery when covered with shampoo. (A special note here: a T-shirt is not appropriate attire when bathing a cat. Consider investing in kevlar or chain mail.) 

Seven minutes later, looking as though someone had pushed me into the river, I allowed Pudge to escape from the tub for the tenth time. Water was dripping from the vanity and from the toilet. It ran in tiny paths from far up the bathroom walls. The six towels I had laid out to dry the cat with were unsuccessfully sopping up the water that covered the entire floor. Again, Pudge sat in the corner, his yellow eyes dancing with insane anger. Knowing that I would never get him to submit to a towel dry, much less a few moments with the blow dryer, I opened the door and set him free. 

They say that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, but a spitting mad tomcat certainly gave this old woman an education. 

Deciding that I must have done something wrong, last night I combed the Internet in search of videos entitled “How to Bathe Your Cat.” Repeatedly I watched as placid animals, seated in the tub or sink, patiently accepted their owner’s attention, but none of the videos told me where to contact a lion tamer or when to call the paramedics. This was the only video clip that came close to Pudge’s bath experience. (Note: I don’t believe that they used a real cat for all of these shots.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9QwK5EHSmg

I did find, however, that the Chinese have developed an automatic, cat washing machine. I kid you not. Pour in the shampoo, drop in the cat, slam the lid shut, and press start. In about twenty minutes, you have a clean cat. No scratches, no biting, no flooded bathroom. Hmmm…

Sue

Auto cat wash machine

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/327228998/auto_cat_wash_machine_PWF50_11.html

The Squirrel’s Eye, The Squirrel’s Eye, The Squirrel’s Eye

Pets, Bathing a Cat, Washing a Cat, Cat, Cats, Humor

24 Comments

Filed under Pets, Sue's Corner

24 responses to “The Cat is Clean, Now Could Someone Call the Paramedics?

  1. Fortunately, I don’t have to do this often. Mollie (7 lbs. and an intensive wiggler) got poop caught in her long fur. Eyow! Our entire bathroom was drenched, I was all wet and scrapped up and Mollie was really mad but the poop was gone. Oh yes, this was at 2 a.m. She had jumped on the bed and the stench woke me up instantly. Funny post especially for cat owners.

  2. Oh, this made me laugh. And remember trying to wash my long-haired white cat. Lord, she could do a number on me. And she looked like a drowned rat, but had the righteous indignation and sharp claws of a crusader five times her size. It was exhausting, a bit like passing through a tornado. Hope Pudge is clean and flea-free for a long while.

  3. Thanks for a good laugh. This was too funny.

  4. This made my morning… I’m sure it didn’t make yours!! Fortunately I have never had to bathe either of my cats (indoor kitties). If I did, I’d go for that cat washing machine (of course, my mental picture before I clicked on the link was nothing short of torture with a “spin dry” cycle).

    • On youtube you can watch this machine giving cats and dogs their baths without human intervention, but in my imagination I can see Pudge breaking through the glass and coming after me. I wonder if they make a model that’s bullet proof?

  5. Oh my, a washing machine for kitty! Poor Pudge. The only flea program that works successfully for my cat is Revolution. 😉
    Hope Pudge gets to feeling better 🙂

    • I’ve never tried Revolution. I’ll have to check it out. I’m desperate to find someting that works for him. I even had to take Grenny’s flea collar off because her sleeping against him was causing the sores.

  6. P. Booher

    Maybe you should get a welding helmet and gloves the next time Pudge needs a bath.

  7. Wow you’re brave, When I had a cat I bought one of those flea collar things, calicos are all cute but wow deadly claws too 😦

  8. Thanks for sharing this experience! Bathing cats has never been easy for me or for them. Luckily we don’t get flees now that we are living at a higher altitude, in the midwest it seemed they were impossible to avoid. My cats did feel better though after they settle down and dry out 🙂 Thanks for visiting and liking my post!!!

  9. Hilarious post – can so identify (in fact had to a little trim of RC’s long hair in a “personal area” yesterday due to rank smelly stuff). Fleas are a horrid problem if the winter isn’t very cold – or the house stays warm. We’ve fought them (where I did get better with a cat washing technique – one short hair actually got to enjoy it and started hanging out in the shower..the best cat of the lot – husband came with 3…) And you are right many cats are allergic to collars(forget those) and flea treatment. The drops on the shoulders for all animals in household work for us (Advantage right now) – but one brand irritated one of our cats horribly- afterwards he’s run around like psycho cat…so we changed brands. Check Costco if one is around for pricing. Lovely pictures – hope your wounds have healed…

    • Many times we have had to trim the hair on Grenny’s rear because of the same problem. She punishes us with indignant stares for hours afterwards. Unfortunately, Pudge is allergic to Advantage as well. He apparently can’t tolerate the kind Grenny is wearing either, because the fleas are gone, but his rash is getting worse. Looks like it’s time for a trip to the vet for more allergy shots.

      • Might check into some organic flea treatments. I think we used Brewer’s yeast with a very allergic older Westie.
        I also found over the counter Sulfodene helped with irritated spots (http://www.sulfodene.com/sulf-hc.htm). Westies have a lot of skin rash problems – especially when older. We just dabbed the stuff on with cotton balls and it soothed and healed….someone at a feed store told me about it. Might be worth a try?

  10. Thanks! I’ll check into both of them. Pudge’s hair is falling out so quickly. Today he looks as though he ran into a four year old with a pair of scissors. He’s got bare spots everywhere.

Leave a Reply

