Squirrel Photo Shoot

Some of my fondest memories of childhood were the walks outside with my mom. Whether we were on a forest trail or merely strolling through the backyard, she seemed to transform the world around us into a place of interest and great beauty.  Her observant eyes could follow a bird song to its source or find a deer or groundhog in a distant field. She knew the wildflowers and the trees by name. She could (and still can) recognize the scent of rain on the breeze. She drew our attention to caterpillers, animal tracks, butterflies and colorful leaves. Most of all, she taught us to respect nature and be patient, for respect and patience often offer some surprising rewards.

My reward has been a considerable increase in the number of visiting squirrels. Since the feeder by the dining room window is still in pieces. (thanks to the bear) I started feeding the squirrels and birds on the front porch. The porch roof and the heavy trees provide protection from the ever vigilant eyes of the local goshawk. Now that the weather is warmer, I eat my lunch outside, and I’m usually joined by at least one of my squirrels, a variety of song birds, and a beat up old chipmunk that we call Scar Face. As long as I keep my movements slow, they are content to eat a few feet away from me, but there is one that seems almost without fear. “Mama” my original squirrel. She is the queen. If she scampers onto the porch, the others leave, if they know what’s good for them.

Since there is no longer any glass between us, I had refrained from taking photos, but one day this week, I decided to take a chance to see  if Mama would let me get near enough to take a few close ups. She not only stayed with me for almost an hour, but she actually stopped eating for long enough to pose several times. I had so much fun (for free) that I decided to share our photo shoot with you. Enjoy!                    

  

1 Comment

Filed under Photography, Sue's Corner, Wildlife

One response to “Squirrel Photo Shoot

  1. I think she likes being a model!!! Your mother sounds like a wonderful woman who taught you all the right stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

